Start free trial

The public record of what AI companies claimed and what held up.What AI companies claimed, and what held up.

Each edition checks a few of the day’s AI claims against their sources and gives each one a ruling, with the receipts one tap away.

Read the briefing

Start with two full samples. Sign in for this edition’s free story. Sources and corrections stay open.

What the pen marks mean
  • rememberThe takeaway: what to remember
  • figureThe number that matters
  • evidenceThe evidence line
  • rulingThe ruling
  • claimThe claim that fails

Each mark is drawn once, as you reach it. Numbers are only circled when they come from the story’s own figures.

OpenAI's account cap

OpenAI now limits paid ChatGPT accounts per device and card. Its help page covers 5 plans and never says what the limit is.

An OpenAI Help Center page says ChatGPT limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and may block new subscriptions when too many share a card or device. It covers Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500.

The reality check

The page confirms the limit but gives no number for it. explainx.ai lists the actual caps, an effective date and any motive beyond privacy and security as not stated by OpenAI. The page also says a shared card can hit the limit even across different devices.

Why care? A household paying for several plans on one card can hit a ceiling nobody has published. The Decoder reads the change as a push toward credits; nothing in this record shows OpenAI saying so.

Take this with youOpenAI confirms it limits paid ChatGPT accounts per device and card, but its help page gives no number for the cap.

Open the evidence3 source pages

The claim we checked

OpenAI is now capping how many paid ChatGPT accounts you can have per device and payment card.

These are quoted receipts, not a count of independent investigations. Several reports may rely on the same original source.

web.archive.org ↗
ChatGPT also limits how many paid accounts you can use on one device.
web.archive.org ↗
If too many subscriptions are associated with the same payment card or device, ChatGPT may block a new subscription purchase.
web.archive.org ↗
Device limits apply to ChatGPT Go, ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Pro 100, ChatGPT Pro 200, and ChatGPT Pro 500 plans.
explainx.ai ↗
Not stated by OpenAI: the actual card and device caps, an effective date, and any motivation beyond privacy and security.
the-decoder.com ↗
The policy will likely hit users who've been switching between multiple paid accounts on one device to squeeze more usage out of cheap flat-rate subscriptions.
Open this check in the full collection →
The idea, illustrated

A cap with no number

  1. Limit covers 5 paid plans
  2. Free, Business, Enterprise and Edu exempt
  3. The cap's size: not stated
Conceptual illustration · not a data chart
Next: Grok Bot's costs

Grok Bot's costs

Musk says Grok Bot costs too much to serve. He gave no dollar figures, and the weekly allowance has no published size in this record.

Replying on X on 1 November to a user who asked for a usage reset, Musk said the cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue, as subscribers reported running through weekly limits fast.

The reality check

AI Chat Daily says Musk gave no dollar figures, time period or cost breakdown. explainx.ai says xAI has not published the weekly allowance, so nothing in this record can show it was cut.

Why care? A cost claim with no numbers can't be checked, and an allowance with no stated size can change without notice. If you pay for Grok Bot, keep your own record of usage.

Take this with youMusk says Grok Bot costs too much to serve, but gave no dollar figures, and the weekly allowance has no published size in this record.

Open the evidence4 source pages

The claim we checked

Grok Bot users ran out of a week's usage overnight, and Elon Musk says the agent was costing too much.

These are quoted receipts, not a count of independent investigations. Several reports may rely on the same original source.

aichatdaily.com ↗
the cost of serving Grok Bot, the always-on Grok agent product, was "unsustainably high relative to revenue."
tokenpost.com ↗
Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving cost is unsustainable relative to its revenue
tokenpost.com ↗
The comment followed an X user’s request to reset a usage limit that was running down quickly this week.
explainx.ai ↗
It is the only primary statement so far. Musk gave no figures, no new limits and no timeline.
aibuilderclub.com ↗
a weekly usage allowance with no published size, on-demand overage with no product-specific cap, and a model you do not get to choose
Open this check in the full collection →
The idea, illustrated

A cost claim with nothing to measure

  1. Users report weekly limits running out
  2. Musk: cost unsustainably high relative to revenue
  3. No cost figures, no allowance size
Conceptual illustration · not a data chart
Next: Expect to hire, not hired

Expect to hire, not hired

A headline says the Feds found AI-using small firms are more likely to hire. The New York Fed measured hiring expectations: a 10-point gap after controls.

New York Fed researchers Will Aarons and Asani Sarkar reported that, in the 2025 Small Business Credit Survey, AI-using employer firms had a net 33-point expectation of higher employment over the next year, against 15 for non-users.

Free with your account

Sign in for this free check.

This edition’s selected free story opens after sign-in.

Open the evidence3 source pages

The claim we checked

Feds find small businesses that use AI are more likely to hire.

These are quoted receipts, not a count of independent investigations. Several reports may rely on the same original source.

libertystreeteconomics.newyorkfed.org ↗
We find that firms currently using AI are significantly more likely than non-users to expect increased employment and revenues over the next year
libertystreeteconomics.newyorkfed.org ↗
those who currently use AI had a 33 percentage point net expectation of higher employment in the next twelve months, while non-users had only a 15 percentage point net expectation
libertystreeteconomics.newyorkfed.org ↗
Whether AI-adopting firms actually experience the stronger revenue and employment outcomes they anticipate is a subject for future research.
vitallaw.com ↗
Small businesses that use artificial intelligence are more likely than nonusers to expect employment and revenue growth during the next year
streamlinefeed.co.ke ↗
New York Fed researchers Will Aarons and Asani Sarkar analyzed the Federal Reserve Banks’ 2025 Small Business Credit Survey (SBCS).
libertystreeteconomics.newyorkfed.org ↗
the gap in expected employment growth between AI users and non-users remains positive (at 10 percentage points
Open this check in the full collection →
The idea, illustrated

Go inside the check.

    The full explanation appears when your reading access is confirmed.
    The finish line

    Edition complete

    You’re up to speed.

    That’s the 2 Nov 2026 briefing. Keep the useful bits. Leave the noise.

    Your call? Test yourself on this edition
    1. OpenAI's account cap

    2. Grok Bot's costs

    3. Expect to hire, not hired

    Reading estimate: 545 words at 200 words per minute. Source quotes and the optional sections below add reading time.

    Have another 3 minutes? · Learn one thing

    Tokens: the pieces AI reads

    Two words can be two tokens. One word can be six. See what changes. A beginner lesson with a visual you can play.

    Try the free lesson →

    Keep exploring

    All research

    Browse every checked claim by topic.

    A curated directory. Check each entry’s date and sources.

    Make a little room for clarity.

    Get the next checked edition in your inbox.

    Free email updates. Unsubscribe any time.